Now for something completely different!

My workbench has been looking a bit different recently

Some non-railway projects

The ‘Mini’ traction engine in the middle is a project I started over 20 years ago and is still waiting to be finished!

The Mamod steam tractor has been passed to me. It hadn’t steamed for at least 30 years. I dismantled it and gave it a good clean.

A service kit was bought from EBay with new O rings and washers and hey presto, it was steaming..

The other project has been a 1/5th scale model of a Chevrolet Corvette. I was asked by my daughter’s partner to convert the car from the 1978 version which the kit he had acquired depicted, to the earlier 1977 version. This involved replacing the large rear window with a smaller one consistent with the 1977 model. Some of the body had to be cut away and a new rear end built. I used plasticard and plenty of resin putty to achieve this.

The kit had been started by the previous owner but had a lot of loose, broken and missing bits. A new door mirror was fashioned from resin putty and a general tidying up of the body and chassis. Finally it was finished in bright red with a red interior..

This was really quite fun to do and quite a departure from railway modelling!!!

Author: Nick Salzman

Retired. Hobbies include Railway Modelling, Model Engineering, Art and Photography.

Leave a comment